Food Groups contains resources based on the 2010 Dietary Guidelines for Americans to help individuals meet nutrient and calorie needs and make healthy eating choices. MyPlate is the new food icon to prompt consumers to think differently about their food choices.

Grain Group

Foods made from grains such as wheat, rice, oats, cornmeal, barley or another cereal grain are considered a grain product. Whole grains include: whole wheat, oatmeal, bulgur, whole cornmeal and brown rice. Make at least half your grains whole grains to promote health and reduce health risk.

Vegetable Group

Vegetables are the edible parts of plants and are available raw, canned, frozen, dehydrated, and as a juice. Vary your veggies and eat vegetables that are bright in color. Make half of your plate fruits and vegetables!  Adults should aim for 2-3 cups of vegetables each day, depending on your age and gender.

Fruit Group

Fruits are the edible parts of plants that contain a seed. Fruits may be fresh, canned, frozen, or dried, and may be whole, cut-up, or pureed. Think healthy snacks instead of sweets. Make half of your plate fruits and vegetables!  Adults should aim for about 2 cups of fruit each day.

Dairy Group

Foods made from milk are considered a part of this food group. Adults should consume 3 cups of dairy products daily. Get your calcium rich-foods and switch to fat-free or low-fat (1%)milk products. 

Protein Foods Group

Protein foods include: meats, eggs, seafood, diary, seeds, nuts and legumes. Most Americans eat enough food from this food group. The goal is to go lean with protein such as eating chicken without skin.